Skip to content

5 Reasons to Justify Your Trip to Europe

August 25, 2010

As a recent graduate with not too much extra cash to sit on, I felt as if I had to justify a two month excursion through Europe. After a lot of thinking and even more dreaming, I came up with 5 reasons why now would be the time to take the trip of a lifetime.

1. A book can only do so much
After four years of studying architecture, I have seen countless images of buildings in Europe. However, it was stressed that architecture is not confined to an actual built structure, but the space that surrounds the structure as well. Experiencing a space in two dimensions can only get you so far. It takes walking the space to feel the textures, hear the sounds and see how people interact with the building. Take Jen for example. She was able to fully interact with this piece of art in a park. When you sit on it the right way it looks like you are floating. Could she get that expression after seeing this same piece in a book? I think not!

2. Use the trip to brand yourself and increase your own brand awareness
In the ever-increasing competitive hiring process, it is important for companies to understand who you are and what you can bring to the table. Use your experiences in life to help build your credibility in the work place. By bringing your stories into a medium that everyone can access, you become not just another resume, but a person with a rich and interesting history.

3. Tell your story through different mediums to load up your tool belt
Experiencing is only half the battle while the other half is sharing. Find unique and different ways to share your experiences. With new media platforms emerging everyday, it won’t be soon before companies start searching for new ways to tell their own stories. Use your trip to fill your tool belt with things like Twitter, YouTube and Foursquare and it will put you a step ahead when executives are looking for a new outlet.

4. Your experience out in the world helps you be a better partner in the office
This is an easy one. There is nothing worse than looking ignorant when leaders are present. The more you know about people, the easier you can relate to them. And with a throw back to my friends down in Orlando… “it’s a small world after all.”

5. Because you are going to have a blast
The number 1 comment that is thrown my way when I tell people about this trip is, “this is the time to do it.” With nothing holding me down, why not travel the world. I will be joined by good people, eating good food and hopefully experiencing some incredible spaces. In the end, that’s really all I need to justify my trip to Europe.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    August 31, 2010 6:53 pm

    I am honored to find myself in this post. For the record, you sold me on the justifications. Wish I was heading to Europe instead of into another schoolyear! I love the look of your blog, and I can’t wait to hear stories from you three!

Leave a Reply

