Skip to content

Easing into a Cultural Experience

September 14, 2010

To fill some of you in who don’t know me as well, I will be the one on this adventure freaking out a little more than Colin or Eric. My life tends to air more on the planned side. I am at ease when I know where I will be in 6 months and I like knowing where I am headed. So even though I am beyond excited for this trip, it will be a challenge for me because let’s face it, during the trip I’m not sure where will be sleeping in the next 6 days. So how am I going to prepare myself for this complete immersive experience and what have I done so far? Well… while Colin and Eric where reading books, I was designing a logo. And as beautiful as our logo is 😉 it’s not going to help me in the streets of Europe.

Now it is time to step up to plate and really know what I am getting myself into. I am fine with not knowing everything before we take off, but I should prepare myself with the tools I need so I can at least fake it. So after multiple recommendations by trusted friends, I purchased Lonely Planet: Europe on a Shoestring. It has been a great way to really dive into everything in a way that is completely manageable and enjoyable.

After looking at our plan, I found that research is not the only path to success. By planning our trip in the right way, we are actually easing ourselves into this experience without even realizing it. Follow the steps below…

Naperville > New York > London > Paris > Amsterdam

Taking the cities in this order actually breaks down the challenges we are going to face one by one as opposed to all at once. See below…

Home > Size > Culture > Language > This one might require a separate post

All of a sudden this trip is looking pretty easy. Now this doesn’t mean I don’t need any more help, in fact I am going to turn it over to you. Please help me and leave your tips that helped you trough your travels. Was it reading books? Watching movies? Eating food? Let us know! Hopefully with your help, I can transform into the calm, cool and collected traveler that I dream of being.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 16, 2010 5:54 pm

    Did you write this well in high school?

Leave a Reply

