Skip to content

Branding blogs = Having babies

September 18, 2010

If this trip was a turned into a pregnancy, the three of us would play the following roles…

  • Eric would be the parent buying every “what to expect” book on the shelf. This boy has done his research and despite not having every left the county, he knows more about Europe than my freshman year World History teacher. It if wasn’t for him I would be lost.
  • Colin would be the doctor in the delivery room ready to get a little messy and catch that baby. Finding his way through train and flight schedules like its a piece of cake, Colin has been able figure out how we are going to execute this entire operation. He has truley taken the leading in making sure we get to where we need to be and how it is going to happen.
  • Myself… well I guess I would be the one painting the nursery. I have taken this blog as a mini side project to give us a look, feel and essentially created our own brand. It might not be the most crutial step in the process, but has sure been a lot of fun.

Would I call myself a necessity in this process, maybe not. But I worked hard to make us look good and to prove it I am sharing some older logos.

831 logo

This was the first logo that I created. For a while when we were tossing around ideas, we didn’t have much to work with except the facts. We knew there were three of us, traveling for 8 weeks, across 1 continent. So 831 was born and this logo was closer to that idea. The logo literally reads EUROPE, 8, INFINITY. Translation, 1 continent, 8 weeks, infinite possibilities. A little out there I know, but we thought this would make the perfect T-shirt or patch. I think  all three of us all have a special place in our hearts for this one, but we just couldn’t make it work.

Pac Man logo

By the time the next logo came around we had landed on Eurobites so we had something to work 0ff of. It is a lot easier to create a logo from a name than the other way around. With the idea of “bites” I thought we could do a little throw back and bring in some Pac Man. Instead of cherries he could eat countries, glasses of wine, landmarks, you get the idea. That idea started to fizzle, but the icons hung around.

Final logo

And that brings us to today. Hopefully by just looking at the header image you get an idea of what you will expect in this blog. It may not be flashy or fancy, but I think it tells our story pretty nicely. And I have a feeling this is going to make a pretty hot T-shirt as well.

This baby is going to love his nursery 😉 Oh yes, it’s a boy and gifts are welcome. And I hear the baby prefers cash.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2010 3:47 pm

    I love the analogy Greg! Maybe you can help KMS paint her baby’s room! LoL. Keep up the great work. We’re going to miss you, but you’ll have a blast!

    I can’t wait to get some great Fashion pics from you, we can do a collaboration on a blog!!

  2. Melinda Summers permalink
    September 19, 2010 3:39 am

    I hope you’re serious about making them t-shirts! You should!! You could sell them to get money for the trip! I would buy one! I really like the logo! Well done!

Leave a Reply

