Skip to content

A Lovely Day for a Poll

September 21, 2010

Alright folks. It’s your turn to talk to us! This trip is bound to take some unexpected turns. We have a game plan, but we’re not bound to that. This is your chance to to have a say in where we might end up once we’re there.We’d love to hear your thoughts. So please take a minute to let us know what you think.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Dan Hurst permalink
    September 21, 2010 3:12 pm

    Hi friends! Wow, this is quite a blog, and you’re doing a fantastic job publicizing your trip!! I couldn’t resist coming to visit! Then I realized I couldn’t decide between Venice or Munich (I know nothing about the other 3). Here’s why:
    Venice is really great, because A. it’s gorgeous and B. you only really need to spend 1 day there. It’s pretty tiny.
    The reason I wanted to vote for Munich is not really for the city itself but for the other things to do in Bavaria. Last summer I visited three palaces: Linderhof, Hohenschwangau, and Neuschwanstein (I’m sure you’ve come across them in guidebooks). Linderhof is by far the most beautiful. Neuschwanstein is awesome on the outside (it was the inspiration for Disney’s castle, Gregory!!) but pretty barren on the inside. Then Hohenschwangau is like right next door to Neuschwanstein, so you might as well see it if you’re gonna be there.

    So this turned out to be a pretty huge comment. I’d be happy to share my thoughts on London, Paris, Rome, Prague, and other sights/cities in France, Italy, and Germany if you’re interested!! I’m sure you can find a way to reach me. You’re going to have such an awesome trip!!! All the best! Much love!
    Dan

  2. Eric H permalink
    September 21, 2010 3:41 pm

    I voted for Istanbul and I am going to be frank when I based my vote on the fact that I’ve never known anyone who has traveled there. I believe the place has a ton of history and would be so unlike the other 4 options. Additionally, I have been to Venice and while I agree with Dan in that it is beautiful and can be done in a day (knowing from experience), it’s tough to know your way around and the place is quite touristy. However, I know that there are parts that go undetected, you’ll just have to work a little harder to find them. I look forward to what you choose!

  3. Sydney M permalink
    September 21, 2010 7:21 pm

    you will love munich! my friends and I even extended our time there by an extra day or 2 to be able to do schloss neuschwanstein (the castle disney based his cinderella castle off of). you’ll hear all about king ludwig (their crazy king, who is my new favorite monarch) and the city itself has taken a very different perspective in the way it addresses it’s affiliation with WW2. i think we did munich in 4 days. venice was also beautiful, although very confusing…we got lost, as there really is no good map of venice. prague was our favorite….it has this wacky medieval attitude to it. you could do it in 3 days. don’t forget to check out new europe tours. they are free, student-led tours of the cities and they are really interesting, they cover the whole history, and very entertaining! http://www.neweuropetours.eu/
    have a blast you guys!!!

  4. September 22, 2010 10:28 pm

    keeping it short due to others gushing about their cherished cities. love this polling idea and i first thought pamplona, spain but all the events i would love to see you guys in would be in the summertime. so stockholm is where they do the biggest,most BA smorgasbord in dee world. i know you’ll do the democratic thing so you go with the other but ya just thought i could be the underdog.

  5. sarahjo permalink
    September 27, 2010 11:49 am

    I voted Istanbul because…why not? Though you should definitely go to Dublin. Dublin is awesome. I loved it there! If you do, just don’t stay in Abraham house hostel. It’s wonky.

Leave a Reply

