Skip to content

Keeping it Safe: The Wallet

October 10, 2010

There’s and old saying. Spectacles, testicles, wallet and watch. The four basics every man should check before he heads out the door. However the next few months are going to be just a little different. Instead of checking for the four essentials just before I head out the door, I will probably be checking them every five minutes. One of the most common tips I have heard has been to “watch for pick pocketers”. Apparently in Europe, stealing isn’t as much a crime as it in an art. From throwing babies to human statues, it seems like everyone has their own way of getting your wallet.

Well I will be damned if I spend the next two months looking at everyone like they are ready to attack. So I went to the blogs to help me calm my anxiety and there lay my answer, the money belt. Perfect! Now I just needed to find the right one and to help decide, I had three pieces of criteria.

Size: My recently acquired iPhone is slowing taking over my life. And since I have already decided that my baby is coming with me (iTravel with my iPhone), it is very important it have a safe home. I could only get so far online before I realized I needed to physically see these things before I could buy it. Luckily the outlet mall down the way had a luggage store inside. I was able to open the packaging on everything and find the perfect fit.

Accessibility: There is a big difference between walking through an airport and walking through the streets of Europe. I wanted a wallet that would serve both needs and for that I need pockets, zippers and velcro. A nice range of compartments gives me a secure place for my cash, but also a place I can quickly grab my train schedule. For the same reason, I went with the neck wallet vs. the money belt. There were a few more options that gave me a little more flexibility when deciding on the right one. The square on my chest might make me look like Iron Man, but resembling Robert Downing Jr. isn’t the worst thing in the world.

Price: We all know by now that none of us have the luxury of spending more than we need to on this trip, especially on boring things like neck wallets. I thought for sure that I would be able to find a better deal online, and I was right. However by the time I added shipping, the margin was small enough to slide. In the end I spent $13, a small price to pay for peace of mind.

So now I can feel good about leaving the hostel each day with the four basics; spectacles, testicles, wallet and watch. Well actually i don’t wear glasses or a watch so I guess it is just wallet and testicles. Hopefully those European criminals aren’t out there to steal number 2… but just in case, wish me luck.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2010 11:44 am

    Oh Greg, you’re such a wonderful writer! I love reading your posts! This one in particular because Nick says that phrase all the time, “spectacles, testicles, wallet, & watch!”…And then I repeat it, with a British accent for added effect.

    On our European trip, I used the under-the-clothes-fanny-pack-belt-thingy (was that descriptive enough for you?) Every time I reached for cash it looked like I was pulling it out of my undies. I think it disturbed a few people but it worked pretty well! Of course sometimes it looked as though I had a little extra cushion/tire around my belly…the Iron Man look might be better than the extra fat role I looked like I was rocking! =)

    Miss you!

    • Greg Josken permalink*
      October 11, 2010 11:47 am

      I am glad you are enjoying it 🙂 It is only going to get better. Keep the tips coming, we need all we can get!

  2. October 11, 2010 3:10 pm

    Another fab post Gregory! I have never heard that saying, but I like it! I’m glad you found your iPhone holder, and I’m glad the price was right. Can’t wait to read a post from NY! Be sure to review that hotel! I want to read all about it!

    – Courtney

  3. Aunt Pam permalink
    October 11, 2010 7:37 pm

    Ok….Jim and I haven’t heard this saying….but it seems worthy! I have the neck wallet for when we travel (to foreign places) and it works great. Jim says I look like a nerd, but I’ve heard worse. Passport and all your id can fit nicely in it. Jim wears an IPod holster on his belt….no one could remove it without him knowing it….fits kinda tight. That might work. We just got Android’s (same as IPod only uses google as server). We may be tooooo old for these, can’t figure it out. But working on it. Hopefully you will be able to continue these blogs when you’re over there. Love reading them. Have you considered writing a book???

Leave a Reply

