Skip to content

What’s On My Plate? London Menu

October 26, 2010

I’ve talked about history, art, weight and terrorism… but what is missing? Something major, and delicious. Oh I know! FOOD! So here are the highlights from my personal menu over the past few days in London.

  • Fruli- Strawberry Beer: One of the most delicious beers I have ever tasted. So thick and delicious, it almost crosses the line into smoothie territory. Definitely worth the splurge when you are out with friends and looking for the perfect addition to your meal. And since there is fruit inside, it’s healthy right? Yeah, let’s go with that.

A must while in London

  • Bangers and Mash: Even though the name sounds a little crazy, it’s actually a pretty traditional meal. Let me break it down for you. Bangers = Sausage and Mash = Mashed Potatoes. I ordered this at a restaurant called The Verve in Covent Garden. You could tell that it was more a bar than a restaurant, but they had all the essential menu items to make it worth stopping in. As soon as I spotted the Bangers and Mash, I knew it was what I would be ordering. With a name that fun to say, how could I resist? What came to me was a wonderful dish served in a large shallow bread bowl with a cup of gravy. Next thing you know, the whole dish was gone, including the dish it came in.

So fun to say you'll have to order it

  • Indian Food from Brick Lane: If you are looking for a unique dinning experience, head over to the East end and visit Brick Lane to find a neon landscape. The street is lined for blocks with Indian restaurants and you can be sure you can find their workers outside the doors trying to luor you in. After carefully selecting the perfect one, we sat down and the server offered us pompadeu. Having no clue what it was, we declined. As I opened the menu, I noticed it was first on the list. As a second server came over to hand us our drinks, he too asked us if we wanted some pomdadeu. We declined again, looked at each other and together decided this was something we needed to try. At 50 pence each it wasn’t going to break the bank, so what the hell. Shortly after ordering, three giant, flat, crispy almost potato chip like (with out the flavor) things were dropped off with four different sauce pairings. If I could describe to you I would, but I had no words. The flavors were pretty intense. All in all I am happy I tried something new, but I won’t be running back anytime soon.

Maybe a real food expert can descibe these a bit better

So there you have it. Three culinary highlights from the City of London. The title euroBITES feels so much better now that we have a food posting. Hope this healthy helping holds you over to till your next meal.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2010 12:57 pm

    All of it sounds yummy. Keep eating like this and who will win the bet!
    We are going through a major wind storm today. Hope you are getting things worked out since Paris is on hold.
    Luv ya
    mom

  2. Aunt Pam permalink
    October 26, 2010 1:20 pm

    Hmmmmmmm……Strawberry Beer???? I’ll have to run that past my hubbie. Do they serve their beer warm or cold??? Sounds like you’re having a blast!!! Stay safe!!!!

  3. October 26, 2010 8:15 pm

    So…tasty. it hurts to look and not eat those amazing pics. Yes, its going up under our Foodie section. Thanks G!

  4. Maki Lane permalink
    October 26, 2010 11:14 pm

    The beer doesn’t look so great, but I bet it tastes good! I am so glad you’re having a great time! Keep eating!

Leave a Reply

