Skip to content

London recap…in slightly more than 60 seconds. Oops.

October 29, 2010
by

Okay, okay, I’m a little behind on entries, but sorry bout it if I’ve been really busy scouring London with binoculars and my “Naughty British Terms” book for a half clothed Orlando Bloom…or Jude Law…or Clive Owen…or…ya know what, that’s beside the point, priorities are priorities folks. Anyway, right right right, between stalking British celebs and offending the locals with my over exaggerated recreation of their dialects, I scored a few discoveries, stories, opinions, and explorer points too, so here we go to catch you up on my version of the trip so far:

London was…everything I fantasized it would be and nothing I thought it would be, if that makes sense.  You could compare it to NYC, but that would be, I think, getting it all wrong.  It was the metropolis of NYC with the sprawling feel and slightly slower pace of Chicago, with magical twist of Narnia sprinkled on top for good measure.  The best of all those worlds. Cute and quaint in the truest sense of each word, and I sort of fell in love with it all.  The neighborhoods were like little villages, similar to the ones that sort of pop up in the U.S. at Christmas, but there you were, in one of the world’s most thriving cities.

Right off I became obsessed with the strikingly outrageous fashion, which I’ll talk in detail about in a later entry.  That said, the people, and I apologize to any British readers, I hope this was a false or premature read, were surprisingly bland.  Proper, if you will, but none of the strong personalities I’m so used to encountering in other big cities.  They weren’t overly nice nor were they by any means rude or short, they just sort of…were.  It kind of made me sad that such a charming place lacked a people whose charm could match their surroundings.  Hopefully though, when we go back, even if for a short time, we’ll be proven wrong. Sort of the same with the food, although we had some bang up Indian food one night.  No idea what the hell it was, but it was all gone when the waiter came back to pick up our plates so…

The sights were fun, kind of amazing to stand in front of things you’ve read about in history books your whole life, the art at the Tate Modern in particular.  A picture of a Jackson Pollock painting does it no justice.  I was overwhelmed standing in front of his “Summertime” and feeling all the crazy shit it evoked.   Ok, ok, tell it to your dear diary I can hear you all saying, and true, this is getting a bit verbose, so I’ll try and wrap it up.  We stayed at 3 places, 2 hostels and with these 2 rockin’ Canadian girls, who sadly got sick while we were there.  Hostel life is fine. LOVE having to press and hold a button to get water out of the shower while attempting to lather, rinse and balance.  Oh and dressing quietly in the dark, FAVORITE new past time. 🙂 Nah, it’s not so bad, and we’ve met some great people. SO many Aussies, and McLovin ’em all!

Alright, that’s it, no more boring you.  More later on fashion AND the juice you’ve all been waiting for…or maybe hoping never came, the deets, which I’ve debated for days as to whether to post and which will come with a large disclaimer, on my final night in London, sleepless and hand-in-hand with one very attractive Brazilian! Until then, au revoir or…whatever hip term the kids are using around these parts.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jessie permalink
    October 29, 2010 2:01 pm

    OHHHH MYYY GOOOOOODDDDD!!! I Barzillian!!! I love Barzilian’s! You must post more! Soon! God I wish I was there.

    Love ya.

Leave a Reply

